Obs/Gyn in Brisbane’s RBWH

I am lucky to be part of 5 students from Queen’s University participating in a clinical exchange with the University of Queensland. Thats right, no winter coat and boots for me for the next two months!

We’ve already landed here and I’m fully settled in, with the exception setting up internet (which is always unbelievably difficult in Australia). After my first two academic days it’s clear that even though they dress much more formally here, the approach to medical education is very relaxed and laid back. So Hurrah!

So far Royal Brisbane Women’s Hospital is incredible! It’s on the same scale as VGH or Sunnybrook Hospital back home, but with more lounges and social areas for physicians and staff. Just take a look at this ‘sleep pod’ in the doctor’s lounge: Sleep Pod

Needless to say, life is pretty cushy here so far! Tomorrow is my first actual day on the wards, so I’ll get a better idea of how things work and run around here. But for now, I’m headed off to park for some time under the sun.

Would love to hear your thoughts: